Ever Wonder Why?

DSC_0130_crop

Is there anybody out there?

As if a business start up isn’t its own labyrinth, I’ve got to figure out this marketing on-line thing. It’s hard and uncertain work. And I am not a stranger to working hard but I’ve noticed a curious thing about what motivates me. Perhaps I’ve also stumbled upon the business part I can one day farm out.

I love designing. In fact, I can’t stop designing and constructing Kitschy Chic bags.  I am filled with ideas and inspiration. While I have a rudimentary marketing plan, I really have no idea why I keep at it. I don’t have a store front to watch the bags fly off the shelves. They sell well enough but there is no direct correlation between production and sales at this time to tell me how viable the business will be in the long term. The motivation that drives me makes no real sense: nothing that I could explain in a logical way. It is just purely a kind of bliss. For now, I think I will ride the wave of bliss, hope and inspiration. Everything else feels over-rated. In the meantime, I’ll keep making bags and writing about what it feels like 🙂

7 thoughts on “Ever Wonder Why?

  1. I feel the same as you.I make all my little fabric creations because I love doing it and if they sell all the better but it is hard.I have just started on Etsy but will it work its early days ? As long as you enjoy what you are doing the rest will follow,is my motto.

    Like

    1. I wish you the very best! I’ve had my Etsy shop for a year now (though I reserved the name several years ago) and I’ve made a few sales – ok, 3 to be exact… However, my bags sell really well through word of mouth so I haven’t been concerned over those stats. That is my resolution for 2015 – figure out this on-line sales thing!!! Keep me posted on your success, ok? Besides, you live in the UK, where there is no shortage of inspiration, right? Happy sales and enjoy the journey.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not selling anything, so no advice – but I know about being driven to do what you love even if you aren’t making much money from it. And I know the important thing is that’s you’re doing what you love. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can relate. I ask myself everyday… “Why?” Sometimes I even convince myself it is a dumb idea – (creating, having a studio, collecting assemblage items…. all of it. But then I get so much joy out of it – I just can’t help but do it. 🙂 You bags are so adorable 🙂 no wonder they bring you so much joy.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Reading your ‘about page’, I’m sitting here thinking you are living my dream. A brick and mortar shop with a studio, a close friend, making art – let’s face it – life is about living happily. I am determined to discover my own meaning of success – even if it means re-writing everything I’ve ever learned. And I’m ok to keep making bags without a deliberate end goal in mind. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a process/journey this much. It really is a lot of fun to play.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Stick to it, it will lead you where you are supposed to be. I’m thankful I have the opportunity to pursue my goals, but I have a long way to go. You just never know where a process will lead you. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

