Doing it my way

DSC_0475_crop

I am so proud of myself! After searching for the perfect pattern for over a year, and designing my heart out in search of a style that I knew is one I could make into a superstar bag, I believe I’ve GOT IT! Actually, I have happily finalized two absolutely perfect handbag patterns! The second one will be featured in the next post. Remember this is a prototype and it will be constructed in various textiles to come, including leather! Visit my facebook page for more pictures (and please ‘like’ me while you’re there!): https://www.facebook.com/kitschychiccouture

I’ve always been pattern obsessed and have collected crates of them over the years. Sadly, as with all things in life, many of the adorable mini summer dresses that I dreamed myself floating around in may look a little different today. Thankfully, I was equally partial to timeless patterns so as I peruse my collection, I am still hopeful that one day, I will get around to making that too. But therein I found my dilemma. So many patterns and not one of them had any of the bag parts I was dreaming about in my head.

The difficulty for me has been that I have not been confident with my pattern making skills. That is, until I abandoned all caution and took a leap of faith. Inspired by Burberry, Chanel, Gucci, Louis Vuitton and the likes of these great designers, I wanted a bag which drapes like it cost a fortune in a style that stands the test of time. As an independent designer, I am not after a large collection, rather, I am seeking perfection. Why couldn’t I create it?

And here you have it. This beautiful slouchy hobo style bag is ADORABLE! I envision it in all sorts of beautiful fabric combinations and ultimately, in luxurious leather. I have commenced a collection of colorful skins waiting to become the perfect bag! Imagine: pink, purple, blue, red… The bag is spacious owing to strategically styled and positioned darts, yet neither is it too big nor too small. It has a short leather strap that allows it to sit comfortably between your shoulder and your waist. It is the perfect size to accompany every outfit. The metal hardward is super stylish and leaves me with so many design options. I envisioned a bag that I had to have. Ironically, I am not really a bag person. I’m not sure I should confess this truth given I design bags; however, I am an extremely discerning buyer.  Perhaps that is why this pursuit of the ideal design has been an unshakeable obsession with me for the past year and a half.  I think I’ve got it: the perfect accessory by Kitschy Chic!

3 thoughts on “Doing it my way

    1. Sil, your thoughtful comments always touch me. Thank you. Truth be told, I’m not so sure I have much by way of ability on this front, but I sure found a whole lot of determination which ultimately led me to success! It’s a lot of fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yes. When someone creates or does something amazing, the word “talent” too often discounts the vast amount of determination, hard work, patience and effort behind it, and even failures before sweet success. The process is soul affirming. Thanks for reminding me of this 🙂 I believe you surely have talent in it to start with, along with everything else!

    Like

Leave a Reply

